wachsen und gedeihen / look what's growing here

Melonen, Pfirsiche und Aprikosen wachsen in British Columbia - und zwar nicht im Gewächshaus...

 

Melons, peaches and apricots - homegrown in BC, and I am not talking greenhouse...

Angeblich sind Kanada und Kälte ja synonym. Immerhin ist der Nordpol in Kanada und der Nikolaus wohnt auch hier.

Bei uns im südlichen British Columbia ist es aber keineswegs immer kalt - ich war selbst überrascht, was hier so alles wächst.

 

Vancouver liegt fast auf dem gleichen Breitengrad wie München. Ich habe aber an der Isar noch keine Melonen wachsen sehen und so viel Aprikosenkuchen wie hier habe ich noch nicht gebacken! Wer hätte gedacht, dass über 2000 Sonnenstunden im Jahr jede Menge Früchte produzieren, die man eher in südlichen Gefilden vermutet hätte?

 

Der Frühling steht mittlerweile quasi in der Tür und ich freue mich schon auf die süße Ernte!

 

 

Canada and Cold are supposedly the same thing, so they say. After all, the North Pole is in Canada and Santa lives here as well.

But right here, in southern British Columbia, there seems to be a bit of a hot spot. I was surprised myself when I found out what you can actually grow here.

 

Vancouver and Munich are at about the same latitude on the globe, but I have never seen melons grow in Munich - in Merritt, I have actually grown them myself.

I also have never baked as much apricot cake as I have since I've lived here, with apricots right out of my backyard.

Who would have thought that over 2000 hours of sunshine per year can produce fruit that one would have expected to grow much further south?

 

Spring is basically here - and I am definitely looking forward to a sweet harvest!