Farewell, Steve Carroll

Today is a sad day.

Steve Carroll, school librarian, teacher, mentor and friend passed away this morning.

I am not exaggerating when I say that I can credit him with my children feeling welcome and at home in Merritt, especially in the school.

My son Marius was taken by his friendly, relaxed style immediately and started volunteering in the library just shortly after we moved here.

Both Pauline and Marius opened and closed the school library every day, and when Pauline moved on to Middle School last year, Marius took on the job by himself.

 

Steve was the school librarian and Marius worked with him every single day. He was so much more than just a teacher. Him and Marius had a special relationship and Steve managed to turn my shy, anxious little guy into a confident miniature librarian, who could run the school library all by himself.

 

Not everyone is lucky enough to have a teacher that touches their life in such a nurturing and lasting way. It is hard to put it into words what Steve meant to my children and my family - but he will not be forgotten.

 

Rest in Peace, Steve, you had to go way too soon. Take care of yourself and to put it in the words of Dr. Seuss :"Oh, the places you'll go!"